My quest for thick beautiful hair.

vogueitaly-may05-nataliavodianova_stevenmeisel017

I’ve almost always had my hair long and I don’t have any difficulty in growing it however it’s also always been quite thin and “silky”. When I was about 19 I noticed that my hair had slightly started receeding from my forehead ala Britney Spears.

van4tsr

Recently I’ve notice that my parting is wider then I’d like it to be and when I wear my hair in certain styles more of my scalp is visible then desirable.

I’ve taken MSM tablets on and off- from a recommendation in The Times Style Supplement in a bid to defeat this but I can’t say I’ve seen a big difference, but then again I haven’t been that consistent with taking the tablets or really measured any difference. So now freshly engaged I’ve decided I’m going to make a big effort to make my hair as thick and lovely as possible so I can look extra wonderful on my big day!

HB002286_R_H200W000

I’ve heard from various sources that Nourkrin is a good supplement to take and also gets the seal of approval from various supermodels. However Nourkrin is £50 for a month’s supply and they recommend you give it about 3 months hmmmm… So going on the advice from a helpful assistant from Holland & Barretts I decided to buy the individual ingredients used in Nourkrin, which actually works out a lot cheaper then buying the product itself.

nourkin

A single Nourkrin Extra Strength tablet contains:
Extract Compound of Marine Origin (Shark cartilage and other shellfish) (300mg), Acerola Cherry Extract (Vitamin C 30mg) (100mg), Silica Kieselguhr (special soluble naturally occurring silica) (30mg), Horsetail extract (25mg), Immunoglobulin G (IgG) Protein (1mg), Microcrystaline Cellulose (40mg), Magnesium Stearate (5mg), Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose, Fatty acids.

I bought Holland and Barretts Silica Complex which also contains Magnesium and Horsetail.

IMG_0177

I tried to buy Shark cartilage but I was unable to so I have Sea Kelp instead which is supposed to help hair growth and metabolism and the Carol Vorderman Detox recommends using it. I’m not going to take the Acerola Cherry Extract as my daily Iron supplement (which I need to take or I feel like I’m going to collapse) already contains high levels of vitamin C. As for the other ingredients I’m not sure where I’ll be able to get them from, but I’ll keep a look out.

So for the time being I’ll be taking one Silica Complex, one Sea Kelp (I can increase this to three a day but I want to start off on the minimum dosage as I’m quite small I find supplements have quite an effect on me and in the past supplements have made me feel sick) 3/4 of a teaspoon of MSM powder (I’m taking a powder instead of capsules as being a Pescatarian I don’t eat gelatine) a day and my iron supplements. I’ve taken some before pictures and I’ll take after pictures once I’ve used up an entire bottle of one of these supplements- wish me luck!

For all hair posts click here

Leave a Reply

